Standing on one’sown two wheels

BMW Motorrad A motorcycle isn’t a car. Nonetheless, the BMW automotive and BMW Motorrad brands were still united for many years, offering “sheer driving pleasure” on two or four wheels. But is that enough to attract motorcycle aficionados surrounded by brands like Ducati, Harley-Davidson and KTM? As BMW Motorrad’s lead agency, we developed a strategy and identity that would open up new opportunities for the future and emancipate the brand – away from the product brand and towards an experience brand, out of the parent company’s shadow and straight into the hearts of the motorcycle community.

  • Brand & marketing strategy
  • Positioning / identity
  • Corporate design
  • Typography / corporate fonts
From product
to brand experience
03 kms team bmw motorrad team01 3 2
BMW Motorrad now stands for self-determination and aesthetic clarity.

Vera Schnitzlein

More space for identification

Vera Schnitzlein, Director Strategy at KMS TEAM, explains the benefits of the new, flexible visual identity of BMW Motorrad: »Both the experience of driving a BMW as well as the new brand identity can be located somewhere between the polar opposites of emotional and rational. This creates a space for people to identify with the brand.« In addition to aligning itself effectively with changing markets and customer behaviour, the brand is also expanding its offerings to include adjacent products and services. These are relevant connections to lifestyles and experiences, creating new ways for people to access the world of BMW Motorrad.

Make life a ride

BMW Motorrad is the only full-range supplier in a field of brands with distinguished profiles. This doesn’t mean that it’s impossible to clearly distinguish between them, however. It’s just necessary to take a different approach. By targeting digitised markets and younger customers, our brand concept promotes identification by portraying the universal self-image of bikers: curious, self-determined, captivating. People don’t just ride BMW Motorrad, they also write their own stories. This links people and their motorcycles in a very emotional way. The underlying brand model describes how customers should see the BMW Motorrad brand. It supplements the BMW values, creating an interplay between emotion and reason.

02 Infographic BMWM mobile kontur
02 Infographic BMWM desktop kontur
Focus on customer experience

Connected, yet independent: The BMW Motorrad brand and its newly defined values are based on the brand foundation, which includes attributes we also updated.

Specific identification
despite the extensive portfolio

BMW Motorrad offers products that range from urban to off-road. But motorcycle riding means different things to different people. For this reason, the new corporate design allows for a great deal of flexibility in implementing various types of moods – to clearly distinguish between each individual segment.

08 kms team bmw motorrad jessica 3 2
The new corporate design embodies pure joy and inspiration, and this is what makes the overall brand experience so exciting for fans. This theme resonates in even the smallest details, like the outward curved lines of the letters and the many round shapes. The powerful logo and striking typography also reveal the brand’s self-confidence.

Jessica Krier

A brand experience,
even beyond the road

Brand development is a transformation that begins in the company. The new brand profile identified specific aspects that needed adjusting. The corporate design we created for BMW Motorrad in the scope of the project transferred the new positioning to the entire product range. Today, BMW Motorrad appears as an independent experience brand across all digital and non-digital touch points.

Deep insights into
the soul of bikers

Is riding a motorcycle really pure emotion? What role do functional factors play in this buying decision? In order to effectively describe the target vision of »experience«, we conducted a comprehensive analysis as part of our process to develop a strategy for BMW Motorrad. Learn more about our special market research methods and in-depth interviews.

Successfully establish identity
as a basis for behavior

We developed a training program to help dealers dive deep into the world of the BMW Motorrad brand to ensure that the new identity would take effect quickly. Since 2018, our brand team has used this tool around the world to connect product messages with the brand identity and teach everyone how to craft brand-compliant customer communication and service.

BMW Motorrad

BMW has been building motorcycles since 1923. Today, the brand is an important part of the BMW Group, providing an extensive portfolio of products ranging from e-scooters to classic road bikes, high-capacity touring bikes and even racing bikes. The brand is one of the top sellers in Europe. BMW Motorrad continued its successful strategy for growth in 2019, producing around 187,000 motorcycles and generating sales of around 2.4 billion euros.

Meet the team
  • Kms team jessica krier 01 4 3

    Jessica Krier

    Design Director

  • Kms team vera schnitzlein 01 4 3

    Vera Schnitzlein

    Head of Strategy

  • Kms team robert boersting 01 4 3

    Robert Börsting

    Design Director

Services and results
  • As brand consultants, we helped BMW Motorrad to position itself more independently within the BMW Group. The aim: To boost employee motivation in the company and enhance the willingness of buyers to identify themselves with the brand.
  • We established the brand as a strategic management tool for marketing communication and introduced the corresponding brand principles and assets.
  • With a new corporate identity, corporate design and corporate font, we help enhance the emotional aspects of the brand and strengthen its focus on the digital future.
  • We designed specific measures to support the implementation of this new strategy.

Auf den eigenenzwei Reifen stehen

BMW Motorrad Ein Motorrad ist kein Auto. Trotzdem waren die Marken BMW Automobil und BMW Motorrad lange Zeit eins, boten Freude am Fahren auf zwei oder auf vier Rädern. Doch genügt das, um Zweirad-Aficionados zu begeistern, die sonst von Marken wie Ducati, Harley-Davidson und KTM umworben werden? Als Leadagentur von BMW Motorrad entwickelten wir deshalb Strategie und Identität, die neue Handlungsspielräume für die Zukunft eröffnen und die Marke emanzipieren – weg von der Produktmarke, hin zur Erlebnismarke, raus dem Schatten des Mutterkonzerns, rein ins Herz der Motorradgemeinde.

  • Marken- & Marketingstrategie
  • Positionierung / Identität
  • Corporate Design
  • Typografie / Corporate Fonts
Von der Produkt-
zur Erlebnismarke
03 kms team bmw motorrad team01 3 2
BMW Motorrad steht jetzt für Selbstbestimmtheit und ästhetische Klarheit.

Vera Schnitzlein

Mehr Raum für Identifikation

Vera Schnitzlein, Director Strategie bei KMS TEAM, erklärt die Vorteile des neuen, flexiblen Erscheinungsbildes von BMW Motorrad: »Zwischen den zwei Polen Emotion und Rationalität bewegt sich nicht nur das Fahrerlebnis mit einer Maschine von BMW, sondern auch die neue Brand Identity. Das bietet Raum für Identifikation mit der Marke.« BMW Motorrad richtet sich damit nicht nur adäquat auf sich wandelnde Märkte und Kundenverhalten aus. Die Marke erweitert auch ihr Angebot hin zu angrenzenden Produkten und Services. Diese bilden relevante Verknüpfungen zu Lifestyles und Erlebnissen und schaffen so neue Zugänge in das Ökosystem von BMW Motorrad.

Make life a ride

BMW Motorrad ist der einzige Vollsortimenter im Umfeld spitz profilierter Marken. Was nicht heißt, dass trennscharfes Differenzieren unmöglich ist. Man muss nur anders ansetzen. Ausgerichtet auf digitalisierte Märkte und jüngere Kunden schafft unser Markenkonzept Identifikation, indem es das universelle Selbstverständnis der Biker abbildet: neugierig, selbstbestimmt, mitreißend. BMW Motorrad fährt man nicht nur, man schreibt damit die eigene Biografie fort. Das verbindet Mensch und Motorrad auf hochemotionale Art. Das zugrundeliegende Markenmodell beschreibt, wie Kunden die Marke BMW Motorrad wahrnehmen sollen. Es erweitert die BMW Werte und schafft so ein Spannungsfeld zwischen Emotion und Ratio.

02 Infographic BMWM mobile kontur
02 Infographic BMWM desktop kontur
Fokus auf das Kundenerlebnis

Verbunden und frei zugleich: Die Marke BMW Motorrad mit ihren neu definierten Werten bewegt sich auf dem Markenfundament, dessen Attribute wir ebenfalls aktualisierten.

Spezifische Identifikation,
trotz des breiten Portfolios

Beim Vollsortimenter BMW Motorrad reicht das Sortiment von urban bis offroad. Doch Motorradfahren ist nicht gleich Motorradfahren. Deshalb erlaubt das neue Corporate Design eine große Bandbreite bei der Umsetzung unterschiedlicher Temperamente – und damit eine klare Differenzierung im jeweiligen Einzelsegment.

08 kms team bmw motorrad jessica 3 2
Das neue Corporate Design verkörpert pure Freude und Inspiration, und genau das macht das Gesamterlebnis der Marke für die Fans so spannend. Das Thema schwingt auch in kleinsten Details mit, wie die nach außen geschwungenen Linien der Buchstaben und die vielen runden Formen. Das kraftvolle Logo und das markante Schriftbild verleihen der Marke Selbstbewusstsein.

Jessica Krier

Ein Markenerlebnis auch
jenseits der Straße

Markenentwicklung ist eine Transformation, die im Unternehmen beginnt. Welche Stellschrauben es zu justieren galt, ergab sich aus dem neuen Markenprofil. Das Corporate Design, das wir im Rahmen des Projekts für BMW Motorrad kreierten, überträgt die neue Positionierung auf das gesamte Produktsortiment. BMW Motorrad tritt heute an allen digitalen und non-digitalen Touchpoints als eigenständige Erlebnismarke auf.

Tiefer Einblick
in die Biker-Seele

Ist Motorradfahren wirklich pure Emotion? Welche Rolle spielen funktionale Faktoren in der Kaufentscheidung? Um das Zielbild »Erlebnis« adäquat zu beschreiben, war eine umfangreiche Analyse Teil unserer Strategieentwicklung für BMW Motorrad. Erfahren Sie mehr über die besondere Methodik unserer Marktforschung und Tiefeninterviews.

Identität erfolgreich als
Verhaltensgrundlage etabliert

Damit das neue Selbstverständnis vom BMW Motorrad rasch Wirkung entfaltet, schufen wir ein Trainingsformat, das die Händler tief in die neue Markenwelt eintauchen lässt. Seit 2018 nutzt das Markenteam dieses Tool weltweit, um Produktbotschaften mit der Markenidentität zu verbinden und markenkonforme Kunden­kommunikation sowie ‑beratung zu trainieren.

BMW Motorrad

Seit 1923 baut BMW-Motorräder. Heute ist die Marke wichtiger Bestandteil der BMW Group und bietet ein umfassendes Produktsortiment: vom E-Scooter über klassische Straßenmaschinen bis zu hubraumstarken Tourern und Rennmotorrädern. Die Marke gilt als einer der umsatzstärksten Anbieter in Europa. Mit rund 187.000 produzierten Motorrädern und Umsatzerlösen von ca. 2,4 Mrd. Euro setzte BMW Motorrad seinen Wachstumskurs im Jahr 2019 weiter fort.

Meet the team
  • Kms team jessica krier 01 4 3

    Jessica Krier

    Design Director

  • Kms team vera schnitzlein 01 4 3

    Vera Schnitzlein

    Head of Strategy

  • Kms team robert boersting 01 4 3

    Robert Börsting

    Design Director

Leistungen und Ergebnisse
  • Als Brand Consultants halfen wir BMW Motorrad dabei, sich eigenständiger innerhalb der BMW Group zu positionieren. Das Ziel: mehr Mitarbeitermotivation im Unternehmen, mehr Identifikationsbereitschaft bei den Käufergruppen.
  • Dazu etablierten wir die Marke als strategisches Steuerungsinstrument derMarketingkommunikation und führten entsprechende Markengrundlagen und Tools ein.
  • Mit einer neue Corporate Identity, einem neues Corporate Design sowie einem neuen Corporate Font unterstützen wir die Emotionalisierung und Ausrichtung der Marke auf die digitale Zukunft.
  • Implementierungsmaßnahmen begleiteten schließlich die Umsetzung der Neuausrichtung.