From a price breaker
to a heart­breaker

ŠKODA From the beginning of our collaboration, the ŠKODA brand was synonymous with value for money. This was great from a rational perspective, but not emotional enough to inspire customers. We also knew that ŠKODA had so much more to offer. By returning to its history and continuing this into today’s digital age, ŠKODA was able to revive the entire potential of its identity. How was it possible to do all of this with design?

  • Brand & marketing strategy
  • Corporate design
  • Digital / UX / UI design
  • Typography / corporate fonts
  • Brand communication & campaign
  • Brand activation
  • Brand portals & documentation
The ŠKODA Superb from 2015 was a prophet

It showed what ŠKODA is really capable of. We applied this opportunity for a new era to the entire brand. As a strategic partner for ŠKODA’s brand management, we positioned the brand as a strong personality in the market and within the Volkswagen Group – one with an impressive history shaped by Bohemian design culture, Cubist roots and a forward-looking aesthetic. We used these characteristics to develop the basis for the design: the »Kaleidoscope of Life«.

You can bring a brand to life with an idea that everyone understands. We dove deep into the legacy of the brand to achieve this goal.

Jessica Krier

Synchronising the product and brand

The new ŠKODA corporate design is as emotional as it is functional, translating the brand into even the smallest element of the brand identity. The values, »simplifying, surprising, human«, are transformed into a clearly defined, tangible design vocabulary that is applied to every aspect of the brand. Today, the product and brand design both speak the same language.

The »Kaleidoscope of Life«
Video The ŠKODA design vocabulary is both crystalline and functional, translating the brand into even the smallest element of the visual identity.
Boosting value through design

The new ŠKODA corporate design creates a sense of identity, elevating the brand into a new dimension of values: for customers, who show self-confidence and emotion with ŠKODA, as well as employees, who are more motivated and generate better ideas because of their stronger identification with the brand. Finally, ŠKODA is also positioning itself as a more attractive brand in competition with other players in the market.

Implement identity more efficiently

We supported the global roll-out of the new visual identity with a new, intuitive brand portal. It fundamentally simplifies processes, which ensures top quality while saving both time and money. Advanced software tools automate work steps, generating the correct logo endings and openers for all formats – including partner logos and calls-to-action that can be designed as desired.

The success story continues

Beautiful automotive brands are expensive – and affordable ones have terrible design? ŠKODA proves the opposite in its products and the overall brand identity. The new visual identity returns to the fascination the brand once had in the earliest days of its history. With this fresh impetus, ŠKODA is making strong inroads into the market and winning industry awards. KMS TEAM is still in the passenger seat as global lead agency CI/CD, helping the company to reach its ambitious goals for the future.

Style guide and library for illustrations

We developed a characteristic illustration style for the brand based on the ŠKODA icons. It is quick and easy to create various on-brand illustrations based on elements such as landscapes, objects and people.

16 kms team skoda vera 4 3
With a striking, flexible design culture, ŠKODA is meeting society’s new expectations as a low-frills brand. In the end, today’s customers shape their own brand universe.

Vera Schnitzlein

ŠKODA

In addition to Daimler Benz, the Czech brand ŠKODA is among the oldest automobile brands in the world. It has been part of Volkswagen Group since 1991, and has even become one of its most profitable brands*. ŠKODA makes around 9% in profits on each vehicle, and even marked record sales in April 2018: With a total of 107,000 deliveries, the brand sold 10.1% more than the previous month. In 2019, ŠKODA sold 1.2 million vehicles world-wide.

* Source: University of Duisburg Essen, CAR Center Automotive Research

Meet the team
  • Kms team jessica krier 01 4 3

    Jessica Krier

    Design Director

  • Kms team sandra schmidtner 01 4 3

    Sandra Schmidtner

    Account Director

  • Kms team markus sauer 01 4 3

    Markus Sauer

    Digital Design Director

Services and results
  • Our branding and consulting approach for ŠKODA was designed to give the brand a clearer, more emotional positioning – both internally and externally.
  • We highlighted genuine, authentic brand values at the heart of a progressive corporate design and corporate font for a successful realignment.
  • The newly created brand experience is sustained by a brand identity that unites all channels, touch points and the UX/UI design under one strong design concept.
  • We created a brand portal with automated design tools and consistent global templates to implement the new visual identity. These valuable assets have helped ŠKODA achieve its transformation goals very quickly and efficiently.

Vom Preis­brecher
zum Herzens­brecher

ŠKODA Zu Beginn unserer Zusammenarbeit galt die Marke ŠKODA als Synonym für ein gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Das war rational großartig, emotional aber zu wenig, um Kunden zu begeistern. Und: In ŠKODA steckte viel mehr Potenzial. Durch die Rückbesinnung auf ihre Geschichte und deren Fortschreibung in die digitale Gegenwart konnte ŠKODA das ganze Potenzial seiner Identität wiederbeleben. Wie gelang es mittels Design, dieses Ziel zu erreichen?

  • Marken- & Marketingstrategie
  • Corporate Design
  • Digital / UX-/UI-Design
  • Typografie / Corporate Fonts
  • Markenkommunikation & Kampagne
  • Markenaktivierung
  • Brand Portale & Dokumentation
Der ŠKODA Superb von
2015 war ein Prophet

Er zeigte, was wirklich in ŠKODA steckte. Diese Chance auf eine neue Ära machten wir für die gesamte Marke nutzbar. Als strategischer Partner des ŠKODA Markenmanagements positionierten wir die Marke als Persönlichkeit im Markt und innerhalb des Volkswagen-Konzerns – ein Charakter mit beeindruckender Geschichte, geprägt von böhmischer Designkultur, kubistischen Wurzeln und zukunftsweisender Ästhetik. Aus diesen Charakteristika destillierten wir Grundmuster für die Gestaltung, das »Kaleidoscope of Life«.

Mit einer Idee, die alle verstehen können, erweckt man Marken zum Leben. Dazu sind wir tief ins Erbe der Marke eingetaucht.

Jessica Krier

Produkt und Marke,
synchronisiert

Das neue ŠKODA Corporate Design ist emotional und funktional. Es übersetzt die Marke bis ins kleinste Element des Markenauftritts. Die Werte »simplifying, surprising, human« werden zur klar definierten, fassbaren Formensprache, die in allen Gestaltungsdisziplinen der Marke Gültigkeit hat. Heute sprechen Produkt- und Markendesign die gleiche Sprache.

Das »Kaleidoscope
of Life«
Video Die ŠKODA Formen­sprache ist kristallin und funktional und über­setzt die Marke bis ins kleinste Element des Erscheinungs­bildes
Wertsteigerung durch Design

Das neue Corporate Design für ŠKODA ist identitätsstiftend und hebt die Marke in eine neue Wertedimension: einerseits für Kunden, die mit ŠKODA jetzt auch Emotion und Selbstbewusstsein zeigen; andererseits für ŠKODA-Mitarbeiter, die sich mehr mit ihrer Marke identifizieren, motivierter sind, bessere Ideen generieren; und schließlich im Markt, wo sich ŠKODA nun als attraktivere Eroberungsmarke gegen andere Marktteilnehmer positioniert.

Identität effizienter implementieren

Den globalen Roll-out des neuen Erscheinungsbildes unterstützen wir mit einem neuen, intuitiven Brand Portal. Es vereinfacht Prozesse grundlegend, was Qualität sichert sowie Zeit und Geld spart. Die Automatisierung von Arbeitsschritten gelingt durch fortschrittliche Software-Tools. Sie generieren korrekte Logo Endings und Opener für alle Formate, inklusive Partnerlogos und frei gestaltbare Call-to-Actions.

Die Erfolgsgeschichte geht weiter

Schöne Automarken sind teuer, günstigen fehlt das Design? ŠKODA beweist heute das Gegenteil, am Produkt und im gesamten Markenauftritt. Das neue Erscheinungsbild verleiht der Marke wieder jene Faszination, die sie zu Beginn ihrer Geschichte besaß. So gestärkt dringt ŠKODA im Markt und bei Branchen-Awards auf Siegerränge vor. KMS TEAM bleibt weiterhin als globale Lead Agency CI / CD auf dem Beifahrersitz und hilft dem Unternehmen beim Erreichen ambitionierter Zukunftsziele.

Styleguide und Bibliothek für Illustrationen

Basierend auf der ŠKODA-Ikonografie entwickelten wir eine markentypische Illustrationssprache: Aus Elementen wie Landschaften, Gegenständen und Personen lassen sich unterschiedlichste illustrative Motive schnell und markenkonform komponieren.

16 kms team skoda vera 4 3
Mit einer prägnanten und dabei flexiblen Designkultur begegnet ŠKODA als Low-Frills-Marke den neuen Erwartungs­haltungen der Gesellschaft. Denn der Kunde formt sich heute seinen eigenen Markenkosmos.

Vera Schnitzlein

ŠKODA

Die tschechische Marke ŠKODA zählt neben Daimler Benz zu den ältesten Automobilmarken der Welt. Seit 1991 gehört sie zum Volkswagenkonzern und zu dessen profitabelsten Marken*. Rund 9,0 Prozent fährt ŠKODA pro verkauftes Fahrzeug an Gewinn ein. Im April 2018 erzielte ŠKODA einen Absatzrekord. Mit insgesamt 107.000 Auslieferungen erreichte die Marke ein Plus um 10,1 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat. Im Jahr 2019 lieferte ŠKODA weltweit 1,2 Mio. Fahrzeuge aus.

* Quelle: Universität Duisburg Essen, CAR Center Automotiv Research

Meet the team
  • Kms team jessica krier 01 4 3

    Jessica Krier

    Design Director

  • Kms team sandra schmidtner 01 4 3

    Sandra Schmidtner

    Account Director

  • Kms team markus sauer 01 4 3

    Markus Sauer

    Digital Design Director

Leistungen und Ergebnisse
  • Unser Branding Consulting für ŠKODA hatte zum Ziel, die Marke emotionaler und klarer zu positionieren, intern wie extern.
  • Für die erfolgreiche Neuausrichtung rückten wir ursprüngliche, authentische Markenwerte in den Mittelpunkt eines fortschrittlichen Corporate Design inklusive Corporate Font.
  • Die neu geschaffene Brand Experience wird getragen von einem Markenauftritt, der alle Kanäle, Berührungspunkte sowie das UX- / UI Design unter einer starken Designidee vereint.
  • Zur Implementierung des neuen Erscheinungsbildes schufen wir ein Brand Portal mitautomatisierten Gestaltungswerkzeugen und global harmonisierten Vorlagen. So gestärkt setzte ŠKODA seine Transformationsziele mit hoher Effizienz und Geschwindigkeit um.