How to reinventthe bike

CANYON Long before the first iPhone changed the world, another visionary brought his idea to life: Cycling enthusiast Roman Arnold sold sports bikes using e-commerce – a truly revolutionary sales concept in 2002. The greatest challenge at the time proved to the customers, as they lacked confidence in online brands. The CANYON founder needed more than a strategic idea: He needed a dedicated partner to help him pave the way towards success.

  • Brand & marketing strategy
  • Positioning / identity
  • Corporate design
  • Logo design
  • Brand communication & campaign
  • Brand activation
Our idea back in 2006 to position the CANYON brand in opposition to all conventions was absolutely correct. It’s still obvious today.

Roman Arnold

Leading the race:
CANYON has been writing its impressive history of success since starting its collaboration with KMS TEAM. (CANYON brand sales in euros)

Pulling away from the competition

Simon Betsch, Managing Partner at KMS TEAM, was largely responsible for the CANYON strategy from the very beginning. He worked with the owner to lay the strategic framework for the non-conformist brand positioning: »In the early days, we discussed whether or not the brand should at least look like other brands due to the very unusual business model. But then we decided to take a completely proactive approach: CANYON should have a totally distinctive look and premium positioning to ensure that people see just how unique this brand really is.«

The ›Pure Cycling‹ promise is the main idea and the heart of the brand. It puts the ultimate cycling experience at the core of the entire brand world, providing a valuable point of reference for employees and customers alike.

Simon Betsch

The key to CANYON’s success: the brand’s driving force

It was easy to replace the originally improvised CANYON service centre and other areas with professional buildings. But the brand was far more concerned about what it needed to keep: namely the authentic passion of the CANYON team. We recognised this as the key to the brand’s success and cultivated it accordingly.

Efficient brand management from the outside in

A man of conviction who built the world’s lightest carbon bike out of pure love for the sport definitely has what it takes to become a global success – we were convinced of this from the very beginning. We also knew that the brand needed to be different in order to earn people’s trust. It needed to go against conventional trends and break with tradition. This required experience and leadership. Starting in 2005, we worked intensively on CANYON’s brand management – guiding the brand to the top of its sector over the next several years. At the same time, we helped CANYON build its own brand management team.

Riding into the wind

We explored every aspect of the company, carefully analysing its products and processes, customers, market competitors and culture – and became bike fans in the process. We still are today. CANYON’s identity as a high-end brand, the epitome of pure cycling passion, is as polarising as its logotype. Its design, product, communication – everything conveyed a completely new type of cycling. As such, the online purchase also became part of the distinctive brand experience.

Branding transforms businesses

Courage, quality, ambitious goals: Brands with this mindset benefit the most from working with us because we use branding in a strategic way – as an entrepreneurial tool that translates into valuable growth perspectives. Today, CANYON is a cult brand and an industry benchmark with a strong negotiating position in working with component manufacturers.

09 kms team canyon font on frame 16 9
Design means being different

To reflect the company’s philosophy of always going in new directions, we decided to tip the type to the left – the opposite of the usual italic lettering. The result is a radical design that gives the entire industry a new way of seeing. The incline corresponds to the angle of the down tube on a bike frame.

Dynamic brands all did the same thing to show how »fast« they were: right-leaning italic letters. This is precisely why CANYON decided to go the opposite way.

Patrick Märki

Quote German Design Award judges’ panel:

»The logotype is what makes this outstanding visual identity truly phenomenal. The CANYON word mark is tilted an angle of around 20° to the left and severely cropped at the bottom. This creates a truly striking symbol with an incredible effect: If people once thought that right-leaning typefaces looked dynamic, they now notice that it looks even faster if the baseline of type extends ahead. We found this idea truly ingenious when applied to the bike frame: The angled supporting bar incorporates the logo, making it look like an even, horizontal texture that almost seems to hold back a bit. It’s also remarkable how consistently the visual identity is used across all of the company communication and architecture.« Judges’ panel explanation, German Design Award 2009

Writing brand history

In addition to the logotype, we also developed a clean, streamlined typeface for the brand: Canyon Text. We were inspired by the previous brand typeface, KnockOut, the Canyon logotype and typical road signage found in the sport of cycling – and used these references in the new typeface to further reinforce the brand identity. Canyon Text is used for web and print applications and is even featured on the products. The typeface family includes four typestyles.

A single physical and digital experience

It’s possible to have a great CANYON brand experience online – and in person as well. We developed the brand showroom in Koblenz 15 years ago, called CANYON Home. It brought the digital brand experience into the real world and has always been a must-see destination for fans of the brand. Today, it generates around 25% of CANYON’s sales in Germany alone.

CANYON

CANYON, the e-commerce pioneer in the sport bicycle market, has sold its proprietary premium racing bikes online since the mid-2000s. The company is also a material sponsor at high-profile sporting events like Giro d’Italia, Ironman and world cycling championships. The company has over 1,000 employees and generates annual sales of around 400 million euros – making it one of Europe’s most successful bicycle brands.

Meet the team
  • Kms team jessica krier 01 4 3

    Jessica Krier

    Design Director

  • Kms team sandra schmidtner 01 4 3

    Sandra Schmidtner

    Account Director

  • Kms team patrick maerki 01 4 3

    Patrick Märki

    Managing Partner

  • Kms team simon betsch 01 4 3

    Simon Betsch

    Managing Partner

Services and results
  • Since 2006, we have provided CANYON with comprehensive support – from developing a disruptive corporate identity and corporate design to the unique brand experience.
  • CANYON’s ambitious expansion strategy paved the way for its corporate and brand communication, the corporate font and logo, as well as all international brand implementation efforts.
  • CANYON has grown its sales to around 400 million euros (2020) – an increase of 2.000%.
  • Leading the ranking of Europe’s most popular bicycle brands (source: Bike Tour Magazine), CANYON sells sports bikes in over 100 countries today.
  • Our strategic branding efforts, digital brand portal, corporate communication and specific brand experiences will help secure the premium position of this cult brand going forward, even in the digital age.

Wie man dasRad neu erfindet

CANYON Lange bevor das erste iPhone die Welt veränderte, machte ein anderer Visionär seine Idee schon wahr: Roman Arnold, Radsport-Enthusiast, verkaufte Sportfahrräder per eCommerce – im Jahr 2002 eine revolutionäre Vertriebsidee. Die größte Herausforderung dabei waren die Kunden, denen das Vertrauen in Online-Marken bislang fehlte. Was der CANYON-Gründer brauchte, war mehr als eine strategische Idee: Er brauchte einen engagierten Partner, der ihm den Weg zum Erfolg ebnete.

  • Marken- & Marketingstrategie
  • Positionierung / Identität
  • Corporate Design
  • Logo Design
  • Markenkommunikation & Kampagne
  • Markenaktivierung
Unsere Einschätzung, die Marke CANYON im Jahr 2006 so deutlich gegen alle Konventionen zu positionieren, war richtig. Das zeigt sich noch heute.

Roman Arnold

Sprint an die Spitze:
Seit Beginn der Zusammenarbeit mit KMS Team schreibt CANYON an seiner Erfolgsgeschichte. (Umsatzentwicklung der Marke CANYON in Euro)

Konsequent dem Wettbewerb davonfahren

Simon Betsch, Managing Partner KMS TEAM, verantwortete von Beginn maßgeblich die CANYON-Strategie. Zusammen mit dem Inhaber stellte er die Weichen für die non-konformistische Markenpositionierung: »Anfangs diskutierten wir, ob die Marke sich wegen des ungewöhnlichen Geschäftsmodells wenigstens im Auftreten an anderen Marken orientieren sollte. Dann aber entschieden wir uns für den offensiven Ansatz: CANYON sollte mit Premiumanspruch und klar differenzierend auftreten, damit die Einzigartigkeit der Marke auch sichtbar wurde.«

Das Versprechen ›Pure Cycling‹ ist die Kernidee und das Herz der Marke. Es macht das ultimative Fahrerlebnis zum Zentrum der gesamten Markenwelt und zum Orientierungspunkt für Mitarbeiter und Kunden.

Simon Betsch

Schlüssel zum Markenerfolg: der Herzschlag der Marke

Das anfangs improvisierte CANYON-Servicecenter und andere Bereiche waren leicht durch professionelle Strukturen ersetzbar. Doch für die Marke viel entscheidender war, was sie erhalten musste: nämlich die authentische Leidenschaft der CANYON-Mannschaft. Diese erkannten und kultivierten wir konsequent als Schlüssel zum Markenerfolg.

Effizientes Brand Management, von außen nach innen

Ein Überzeugungstäter, der aus purer Begeisterung das leichteste Carbon-Bike der Welt konstruiert, hat das Zeug zum Welterfolg. Davon waren wir von Beginn an überzeugt. Wir wussten aber auch: Um Vertrauen zu gewinnen, muss die Marke anders sein; gegen den Strom schwimmen; mit Traditionen brechen. Das braucht Erfahrung und Führung. Also engagierten wir uns ab 2005 intensiv im CANYON Brand Management und steuerten als externer Partner über Jahre hinweg den Weg der Marke an die Spitze. Parallel halfen wir mit, CANYONs eigenes Brand Management Team aufzubauen.

Im Wind fahren

Wir tauchten tief ins Unternehmen ein, analysierten sorgfältig Produkte und Prozesse, Kunden, Marktumfeld und Kultur. Dabei wurden wir selbst zu Bike-Enthusiasten. Und sind es noch heute. CANYONs Identität als High-End-Marke, als Inbegriff purer Radsport-Passion polarisiert, bis hin zum Schriftzug. Design, Produkt, Kommunikation, alles vermittelt ein Radsporterlebnis der neuen Art. So wurde auch der Online-Kauf zum differenzierenden Markenerlebnis.

Branding transforms businesses

Mut, Qualität, ambitionierte Ziele: Marken mit diesem Mindset profitieren am meisten von uns. Weil wir Branding strategisch einsetzen, als unternehmerisches Instrument, das wertvolle Wachstumsperspektiven erschließt. CANYON ist heute Kultmarke und Benchmark in der Branche, mit starker Verhandlungsposition gegenüber Komponentenherstellern.

09 kms team canyon font on frame 16 9
Design heißt, anders sein

Ganz im Sinne der Unternehmensphilosophie, immer neue Wege zu gehen, kippen wir die Schrift ganz einfach nach links – entgegen dem üblichen Kursiv. Das Ergebnis ist ein radikales Design, das neue Sehgewohnheiten für eine ganze Branche schafft. Die Neigung entspricht dem Winkel des Unterrohrs des Fahrradrahmens.

Dynamische Marken waren alle auf die gleiche Weise ›schnell‹: kursiv nach rechts. Genau da geht CANYON den entgegengesetzten Weg.

Patrick Märki

Zitat Bundesdesignpreis Jury:

»Es ist der Schriftzug, der aus diesem hervorragenden ein überragendes Erscheinungsbild macht. Die Wortmarke CANYON wurde in einem Winkel von etwa 20° nach links geneigt und am unteren Ende stark angeschnitten. So entsteht ein prägnantes Zeichen mit erstaunlichem Effekt: Dachte man bisher, rechtsgeneigte Schriften würden dynamisch wirken, so bemerkt man nun, dass optisch noch besser beschleunigt, wer die Grundlinie vorausschickt. So richtig genial wir die Idee dann in Anwendung auf dem Fahrradrahmen: die Trägerstange nimmt in Ihrem Neigungswinkel das Logo nämlich derart auf, dass es nun wie eine gleichmäßige, horizontale Textur wirkt und sich dabei angenehm zurücknimmt. Bemerkenswert ist zudem die stringente Anwendung des Erscheinungsbildes auf sämtliche Teile der Unternehmenskommunikation und der Unternehmensarchitektur.«

Markengeschichte schreiben

Neben dem Logo-Schriftzug entwickelten wir die eigene Hauschrift CanyonText. Sie ist geradlinig und klar. Um die Markenidentität zu untermauern, wurde sie abgeleitet von der vorherigen Hausschrift KnockOut, der Canyon-Logotype und typischen Straßenbeschriftungen aus dem Radrennsport. Dabei funktioniert sie gleichermaßen als Web-Font, im Print und direkt auf dem Produkt. Die Schrift wurde als Schriftfamilie mit vier Schnitten gestaltet.

Ein Erlebnis, physisch und digital

Die Marke ist online ein Erlebnis. Und auch live. Schon vor 15 Jahren entwickelten wir mit CANYON den Marken-Showroom in Koblenz, genannt CANYON.Home. Er holte das digitale Markenerlebnis in die reale Welt und ist seit dem ersten Tag Pilgerort für Markenfans. Heute generiert er allein rund 25 Prozent des deutschen CANYON-Umsatzes.

CANYON

CANYON, der eCommerce-Pionier unter den Sportradmarken, verkauft seit Mitte der 2000er Jahre selbstentwickelte Premium-Sporträder im Internet und ist Materialsponsor bei hochrangigen Sport-Events wie dem Giro d’Italia, Ironman und Radsport-WMs. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt über 1.000 Mitarbeiter und zählt mit einem Jahresumsatz von rund 400 Millionen Euro zu Europas größten Fahrradmarken.

Meet the team
  • Kms team jessica krier 01 4 3

    Jessica Krier

    Design Director

  • Kms team sandra schmidtner 01 4 3

    Sandra Schmidtner

    Account Director

  • Kms team patrick maerki 01 4 3

    Patrick Märki

    Managing Partner

  • Kms team simon betsch 01 4 3

    Simon Betsch

    Managing Partner

Leistungen und Ergebnisse
  • Seit 2006 unterstützen wir CANYON als Partner umfassend, von der Entwicklung der disruptiven Corporate Identity und dem Corporate Design bis zur Brand Experience.
  • Corporate Communication und Brand Communication, für Corporate Font, Logo und die internationale Brand Implementation ebneten CANYONs ehrgeiziger Expansionsstrategie den Weg.
  • CANYON gelang die Verzwanzigfachung des Umsatzes auf rund 400 Mio. Euro (Stand 2020).
  • Der Spitzenreiter im Ranking der beliebtesten Fahrradmarken Europas (Quelle: Bike Tour Magazin) vertreibt heute Sporträder in über 100 Ländern.
  • Durch strategische Beratung, ein digitales Brandportal, Corporate Communication und spezifische Markenerlebnisse sichern wir die Premium-Position der Kultmarke auch im digitalen Zeitalter.