How do youstart a globaleyewear revolution?

JINS Becoming the market leader in Japan’s highly competitive eyewear market is a major feat. But Hitoshi Tanaka wanted even more: to expand internationally and inspire customers around the entire world – and not by simply copying and pasting their national strategy. Instead, JINS wanted to establish a competitive, desirable global brand that would translate into lasting success for the future global player.

  • Brand & marketing strategy
  • Change management & culture
  • Corporate design
  • Typography / corporate fonts
  • Brand communication & campaign
02 kms team jins logo 16 9
Success through identity-
based management

The company’s 3,500 global employees needed clear direction in order to make better decisions. They found this in the brand identity, which provides inspiration, promotes growth and makes the management’s approach to leadership easy to understand. The founder’s intuitive, instinctive management style served as the basis for clear principles that are now used to effectively lead the company, contributing stability, clarity and clout.

Our work is not designed to produce a bit of communication at the end. Instead, JINS founder Hitoshi Tanaka can now run his company using principles that everyone clearly understands and supports.

Simon Betsch

100% focused, including the product range

Every product that isn’t a perfect match for the brand weakens it. JINS founder Hitoshi Tanaka knew this. This is why we strictly aligned the product range with the global market, linking brick and mortar stores to e-commerce. We also formulated a brand promise that reflected the magnitude of the company’s goals: »Magnify Life!«.

06 kms team jins portrait tanaka 3 2
Our goal is to become the world’s leading international eyewear brand. We are convinced that we have the right partner at our side.

Hitoshi Tanaka

Brand identity that sets JINS apart
around the world

JINS expertly used branding to market its business success in Japan around the entire world. The lifestyle brand effectively linked its distinctive product range and digital services with internationally renowned experiences: eccentric pop products, visionary wearables, collaborations with cult brands like Bose, and spectacular exhibitions. Today, people don’t just see JINS – they also feel JINS.

If we want to be a community brand that is as accessible to as many people as possible, a person’s face should be our benchmark.

Patrick Märki

We wanted to use JINS’ strength of connecting online and offline activities more intensively in the brand’s continued development, especially to demonstrate the company’s unique character.

Simon Betsch

We always look at each company’s history. After all, you should always take the story of the company’s founding into account when developing the brand.

Simon Betsch

Continuing the story with authenticity

The JINS strategy helped the brand transition from the Japanese to the international market without losing its connection to its roots. We took the story of the company’s founding into account when developing the brand, which helped us create a solid, lasting foundation for its global growth.

JINS Eyewear

JINS is a leading eyewear manufacturer with stores in Japan, China, Taiwan and the United States. The innovative lifestyle brand operates around 2,700 stores and has around 2,500 employees. Sales in 2018 totaled 460 million euros.

Meet the team
  • Kms team jessica krier 01 4 3

    Jessica Krier

    Design Director

  • Kms team simon betsch 01 4 3

    Simon Betsch

    Managing Partner

  • Kms team patrick maerki 01 4 3

    Patrick Märki

    Managing Partner

Services and results
  • As a long-time brand strategy partner to JINS, we effectively translated the leadership culture of the company founder into management and brand principles that helped to shape the company’s identity.
  • Our solutions for corporate identity, corporate design, corporate font as well as brand and product communication created the framework to successfully expand the brand on a global scale. We used KPIs to demonstrate the impact and efficiency of our activities.
  • The JINS fan community grew from 4,413,960 to 5,277,302 people between 2015 and 2019. At the same time, the credibility of the premium price improved from 7,121 to 7,912 yen.
  • The improved brand image was measured based on the reduced advertising spend per unit sold, with costs dropping from 426 to 382 yen.

Wie startet maneine globaleBrillenrevolution?

JINS Eyewear Marktführer in Japans hochkompetitivem Brillenmarkt zu sein, ist ein Meisterstück. Doch Hitoshi Tanaka wollte noch mehr: Internationalisieren und Kunden auf der ganzen Welt begeistern. Nicht durch simples »Copy and Paste« der nationalen Strategie, vielmehr durch den Aufbau einer global wettbewerbsfähigen, begehrenswerten Marke, die den zukünftigen Global Player dauerhaft erfolgreich macht.

  • Marken- & Marketingstrategie
  • Change Management & Kultur
  • Corporate Design
  • Typografie / Corporate Fonts
  • Markenkommunikation & Kampagne
02 kms team jins logo 16 9
Erfolgreich durch identitäts-
basiertes Management

Damit 3.500 Mitarbeiter weltweit bessere Entscheidungen treffen, brauchen sie Orientierung. Die fanden sie in der Markenidentität, die inspiriert, Wachstum schafft und die Unternehmensführung des Managements nachvollziehbar macht. Aus intuitivem Bauchgefühlmanagement des Gründers wurde so eine mit klaren Prinzipien geführte Organisation. Das Unternehmen gewann Stabilität, Klarheit, Durchschlagskraft.

Das Wesen unserer Arbeit ist nicht, dass am Ende ein Stück Kommunikation rausfällt, sondern, dass JINS Gründer Hitoshi Tanaka sein Unternehmen jetzt anhand von Prinzipien führt, die alle verstanden haben und mittragen.

Simon Betsch

100 Prozent fokussiert,
auch im Sortiment

Jedes Produkt, das nicht 100-prozentig zur Marke passt, schwächt sie. JINS-Gründer Hitoshi Tanaka wusste das. Darum richteten wir das Sortiment messerscharf auf den Weltmarkt aus; verbanden stationären Handel mit eCommerce. Und formulierten ein neues Markenversprechen, das die Tragweite der Unternehmensziele widerspiegelt: »Magnify Life!«.

06 kms team jins portrait tanaka 3 2
Unser Ziel ist, die führende internationale Brillenmarke zu werden. Wir sind überzeugt, dafür die richtigen Partner an unserer Seite zu haben.

Hitoshi Tanaka

Markenidentität, die weltweit differenziert

JINS gelang es, mittels Branding seinen japanischen Unternehmenserfolg global auszurollen. Publikumswirksam verknüpfte die Lifestyle-Marke ihr unverwechselbares Sortiment und digitale Services mit international beachteten Erlebnissen: exzentrische Pop-Produkte, visionäre Wearables, Kooperationen mit Kultmarken wie Bose, spektakuläre Ausstellungen. Heute sieht man JINS nicht nur. JINS spürt man.

Wenn wir eine Gesellschaftsmarke sein und für möglichst viele Leute zugänglich sein wollen, sollte das menschliche Gesicht unser Maßstab sein.

Patrick Märki

Diese Stärke von JINS, die Verbindung von online und offline, wollten wir intensiver für die Weiter­entwicklung der Marke und die Alleinstellung von JINS nutzen.

Simon Betsch

Wir schauen uns immer die Historie des Unter­nehmens an. Denn den Gründungs­mythos sollte man bei der Marken­entwicklung unbedingt berücksichtigen.

Simon Betsch

Die authentische
Fortsetzung der
eigenen Geschichte

Die Strategie von JINS ermöglicht den Sprung der Marke aus dem japanischen in den internationalen Markt, ohne dabei den Bezug zu den eigenen Wurzeln zu verlieren. Im Gegenteil. Weil wir den Gründungsmythos des Unternehmens bei der Markenentwicklung berücksichtigt haben, schufen wir ein dauerhaft tragfähiges Fundament für das globale Markenwachstum.

JINS Eyewear

JINS ist ein führender Brillenhersteller mit Stores in Japan, China, Taiwan und den USA. Die innovative Lifestyle-Marke betreibt rund 2.700 Filialen und beschäftigt rund 2.500 Mitarbeiter. Der Umsatz im Jahr 2018 betrug 460 Millionen Euro.

Meet the team
  • Kms team jessica krier 01 4 3

    Jessica Krier

    Design Director

  • Kms team simon betsch 01 4 3

    Simon Betsch

    Managing Partner

  • Kms team patrick maerki 01 4 3

    Patrick Märki

    Managing Partner

Leistungen und Ergebnisse
  • Als dauerhafter Brand Strategy Partner von JINS übersetzten wir die Führungskultur des Unternehmensgründers erfolgreich in identitätsstiftende Management- und Markenprinzipien.
  • Unsere Lösungen für Corporate Identity, Corporate Design, Corporate Font und Marken- und Produktkommunikation schufen den Rahmen für die erfolgreiche Globalisierung der Marke. Dabei stellten wir die Wirksamkeit und Effizienz unserer Maßnahmen anhand von KPIs unter Beweis.
  • Zwischen 2015 und 2019 wurde eine Vergrößerung der JINS-Fangemeinde von 4.413.960 auf 5.277.302 Fans erreicht. Zeitgleich verbesserte sich die Glaubwürdigkeit des Premium-Preises von 7.121 auf 7.912 Yen.
  • Das verbesserte Markenimage wurde anhand von reduzierten Werbeausgaben pro verkaufte Einheit gemessen. Die Kosten sanken von 426 Yen auf 382 Yen.