010 kms team red dot logo 1 1

The sourceof inspiration

Red Dot Every year, the Red Dot Design Award inspires creatives around the world and invites them to compete in a major design showdown. The brand's website serves as the main starting point and important hub for information and logistics.

»The Source« is the guiding principle for our creative approach: The Red Dot website is the source of reference and inspiration in the design world. The main search functionality that covers the entire Red Dot database, spanning all award categories, submissions and participants, provides easy access to this source.

  • Corporate design
  • Digital / UX / UI design
  • Touch point concepts

The presentation of award-winning works inspires visitors and motivates professional users to submit their own projects. In 2018 alone, there were 8,610 submissions from 46 countries for the Communication Design award, and 6,351 product design submissions from 59 countries for the Product Design award.

Strong numbers

Six months after the website relaunch, the number of users jumped 70% to over a half-million people. Sessions increased by 83%, and page impressions were up 670%. The average session duration nearly doubled, users are viewing more pages, and the bounce rate has decreased by 37%.

Three awards, one platform

The web relaunch strengthens Red Dot’s three pillars: the Product Design, Communication Design and Design Concept awards. It modernises the digital visual identity of the world’s leading design award. Easy access, streamlined content, attractive profiles for submitters and jury members, and a powerful search functionality transform the website into an important source of information and inspiration for all design enthusiasts.

090 kms team red dot mobile 4 3
The Red Dot design system

The GUI kit (GUI = Graphical user interface) initially designed for the website's specific requirements provides the basis for the Red Dot design system. It is possible to scale, adapt and expand it to include other digital touch points within the organisation. New business strategy, UX research and technology findings are always incorporated into its continued development.

140 kms team red dot peter zec 16 9
The new website has greatly simplified many of our processes, users really like it – and it even looks great.

Prof. Dr. Peter Zec

Red Dot

Red Dot Design Award is an international design competition organised by Red Dot GmbH & Co. KG. It is widely considered to be one of the most coveted international marks of quality for good design. Each year, the company recognises excellence in design in a range of award categories: products, brands, communication design and prototypes. With over 18,000 submissions, the Red Dot Award is one of the largest design competitions in the world.

Meet the team
  • Kms team jana schauhuber 02 4 3

    Jana Schauhuber

    Digital Account Director

  • Kms team markus sauer 01 4 3

    Markus Sauer

    Digital Design Director

Services and results
  • UX analysis and evaluation of the entire digital ecosystem
  • Structural overhaul of the entire look; merging of all previously separate award platforms
  • Redefinition and design of all digital components, visualised using selected page templates
  • Development of a GUI kit as a scalable design system
  • Strong web analytics figures due to improved user guidance (see infographic)
  • Award-winning web design

010 kms team red dot logo 1 1

The Sourceof Inspiration

Red Dot Jahr für Jahr inspiriert der Red Dot Design Award Kreative in aller Welt und lädt sie ein zu einem gestalterischen Kräftemessen. Die Webpräsenz der Marke dient dabei als zentraler Anlaufpunkt und wichtigstes Informations- und Logistik-Hub.

»The Source« ist die Leitidee für unseren kreativen Ansatz: Die Red Dot Website ist »die« Quelle zur Orientierung und Inspiration im Design-Universum. Den einfachen Zugang zu dieser Quelle stellt die zentrale Suchfunktion dar, die über alle Award-Kategorien, Einreichungen und Teilnehmer hinweg die Red Dot Datenbank erschließt.

  • Corporate Design
  • Digital / UX-/UI-Design
  • Touchpoint-Konzepte

Die Inszenierung der prämierten Arbeiten inspiriert den Nutzer und fordert den professionellen Anwender zu eigenen Einreichungen auf. Allein 2018 gab es beim Communication Design 8.610 Einreichungen aus 46 Ländern und beim Product Design 6.351 Produkt-Einreichungen aus 59 Ländern.

Starke Zahlen

Sechs Monate nach dem Relaunch der Website stieg die Zahl der Nutzer um 70% auf über eine halbe Million, die Sitzungen legten um 83% zu, die Seitenaufrufe um 670%. Die durchschnittliche Sitzungsdauer hat sich fast verdoppelt, die Nutzer rufen mehr Seiten auf und die Absprungrate ist um 37% zurückgegangen.

Drei Awards, eine Plattform

Der Web-Relaunch stärkt die drei Säulen des Red Dot – die Awards Product Design, Communication Design und Design Concept. Er modernisiert das digitale Erscheinungsbild des weltweit führenden Design-Awards. Schnelleinstiege, kompakte Inhalte, attraktive Profile für Einreicher und Jurys und eine performante Suchfunktion verwandeln die Website in eine wichtige Informations- und Inspirationsquelle für alle Designinteressierten.

090 kms team red dot mobile 4 3
Das Red Dot Designsystem

Das initial auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse der Website ausgelegte GUI-Kit (GUI = Graphical user interface) bildet die Basis des Red Dot Designsystems. Es kann jederzeit auf weitere digitale Touchpoints der Organisation skaliert, angepasst und erweitert werden. Dabei fließen immer neue Erkenntnisse aus Business-Strategie, UX-Research und Technik in die Weiterentwicklung mit ein.

140 kms team red dot peter zec 16 9
Die neue Website hat viele unserer Prozesse enorm vereinfacht, findet großen Zuspruch beim Nutzer – und sieht auch noch super aus.

Prof. Dr. Peter Zec

Red Dot

Der Red Dot Design Award ist ein von der Red Dot GmbH & Co. KG ausgeschriebener, internationaler Designwettbewerb und gilt international als eines der begehrtesten Qualitätssiegel für gute Gestaltung. Jedes Jahr zeichnet das Unternehmen herausragende Designqualität im Rahmen von verschiedenen Award-Kategorien aus; Produkte, Marken, Kommunikationsdesign und Prototypen. Mit über 18.000 Einreichungen ist der Red Dot Award einer der größten Design-Wettbewerbe der Welt.

Meet the team
  • Kms team jana schauhuber 02 4 3

    Jana Schauhuber

    Digital Account Director

  • Kms team markus sauer 01 4 3

    Markus Sauer

    Digital Design Director

Leistungen und Ergebnisse
  • UX-Analyse und Evaluierung des gesamten digitalen Ecosystems
  • Strukturelle Überarbeitung des Gesamtauftrittes; Zusammenführung aller bisher getrennt laufenden Award-Plattformen
  • Neukonzeption und Design aller Digital-Komponenten, visualisiert anhand von ausgewählten Seitentemplates
  • Entwicklung eines GUI-Kits als skalierfähiges Designsystem
  • Starke Web-Analytics-Ergebnisse durch verbesserte Nutzerführung (siehe Infografik)
  • Mehrfach preisgekröntes Webdesign