We are ROOF:Better Together

International football player agencies Arena11 and Spielerrat joined forces to form a new football talent agency that will play a leading role in the global market of representation agencies.

Together with our client, we came up with the name ROOF – Representatives Of Outstanding Footballers – to reflect the new agency’s expertise and mindset. This name describes a company that sees itself as a home for players, providing support in more than just career planning and contract negotiations – but helping them become successful, responsible athletes. They have already signed top international stars like Sadio Mané, Serge Gnabry, Kai Havertz, Marc-André ter Stegen, Naby Keïta and many other national football players.

  • Corporate design
  • Logo design
  • Typography / corporate fonts
  • Naming / tagline

In addition to its expressive name, the newly founded representation agency needed a brand identity that would create a buzz in the locker room while also reflecting its deep understanding of player needs as well as the business behind the beautiful game. The agency wanted a corporate design that would appeal to young, talented football stars in their own words.

Design Director Alexander Geh described the process: »We used this as the basis to create the ROOF design system: It creates space - just like intelligent positional play on the pitch - and is symbolic of the opening-up of new perspectives for players’ careers and lives.«

The ROOF design system creates space - just like intelligent positional play on the pitch - and is symbolic of the opening-up of new perspectives for players’ careers and lives.

Alexander Geh

The corporate design looks like an athletic apparel brand to appeal to the target audience of young athletes. The overarching design principle of creating space for new perspectives is found throughout all design elements. In the same way, the logo design is unchanging in its geometry, but extremely dynamic in its application.

The typography is highly flexible. »We created a monospaced variable font that’s visually connected to the logotype and stylistically mirrors the use of names and numbers on the backs of jerseys. It follows two simple rules: only use the angles 90°/45° (full-time and half-time), and the glyphs must not leave the pitch«, Type Director Hendrik Weber explained.

Only use the angles 90°/45°, and the glyphs must not leave the pitch.

Hendrik Weber

It follows these two rules: The accents raise the baseline or lower the cap height. Letters that do not fit the pitch are cut off (e.g. letter X). The variable axis are the width (full, half and double) and the weight from bold to thin. And some letters even change their construction when interpolating, or at the break points of the changing width.

ROOF

ROOF was created from the merger of international football talent agencies Arena11 and Spielerrat. The slogan "#bettertogether" describes ROOF’s approach and goal: to play a leading role in the international talent agency market. The new agency is based in Grünwald (Munich) and has around 40 employees. It serves over 100 international athletes who play in different leagues around the world.

Meet the team
  • Kms team nadine nadler 01 4 3

    Nadine Nadler

    Strategy Director

  • Kms team alexander geh 03 4 3

    Alexander Geh

    Creative Director

  • Kms team anthony underhill 02 4 3

    Anthony Underhill

    Copywriting Director

  • Kms team patrick maerki 01 4 3

    Patrick Märki

    Managing Partner

Our services
  • Corporate design
  • Design system
  • Motion design
  • Logo design
  • Typography / corporate fonts
  • Naming / tagline
  • Brand portals & documentation

We are ROOF:Better Together

ROOF Durch den Zusammen­schluss der beiden inter­nationalen Spieler­­beratungs­­agenturen Arena11 und Spielerrat entsteht eine neue Sport­agentur, die eine führende Rolle im inter­­nationalen Markt der Beratungs­agenturen spielt.

Um Kompetenz und Haltung der neuen Agentur wider­zuspiegeln, entwickeln wir gemeinsam mit unserem Auftrag­geber den Namen ROOF – Representatives Of Outstanding Footballers. Ein Name für ein Unter­nehmen, das sich als Heimat für seine Spieler versteht und sie nicht nur bei der Karriere­planung und den Vertrags­verhand­lungen unterstützt, sondern auch dabei, sich zu erfolg­reichen und verant­wortungs­bewussten Sportlern zu entwickeln. Unter dieses Dach haben sich bereits inter­nationale Topstars wie Sadio Mané, Serge Gnabry, Kai Havertz, Marc-André ter Stegen, Naby Keïta sowie viele weitere Fußball­national­spieler begeben.

  • Corporate Design
  • Logo Design
  • Typografie / Corporate Fonts
  • Naming / Claim

Neben einem aussagekräftigen Namen braucht die neu gegründete Beratungsagentur eine Markenidentität, die in der Umkleidekabine für Furore sorgt und ihr tiefes Verständnis für die Bedürfnisse der Spieler sowie für das Business hinter dem Spiel zum Ausdruck bringt. Die Agentur wünschte sich ein Corporate Design, das die Zielgruppe junger talentierter Fußballer in ihrem eigenen Fachjargon anspricht.
»Auf dieser Basis haben wir das Designsystem für ROOF entwickelt: Es öffnet Räume – so wie ein intelligentes Positionsspiel auf dem Platz – und steht symbolisch für das Eröffnen von Lebensper­spek­tiven und Möglich­keiten,« erklärt unser Design Director Alexander Geh.

Das Design­system für ROOF öffnet Räume – so wie ein intelli­gentes Positions­spiel auf dem Platz – und steht symbolisch für das Eröffnen von Lebens­per­spek­tiven und Möglich­keiten.

Alexander Geh

Da junge Sportler die Ziel­gruppe sind, hat das Corporate Design die Anmutung eines Sport Labels. Dabei zieht sich das über­greifende Gestaltungs­prinzip, Raum für neue Perspek­tiven zu schaffen, durch alle Design­elemente. Und so ist das Logo­design statisch in seiner Geometrie, aber extrem dynamisch in seiner Anwendung.

Ebenso flexibel ist die Typografie. »Wir haben eine variable Monospaced-Schrift entwickelt, die visuell mit dem Logo verbunden ist und stilistisch das Design der Spielernamen und -nummern auf der Rückseite der Trikots aufgreift. Sie folgt zwei einfachen Regeln: Es dürfen nur 90°/45° Winkel (Vollzeit und Halbzeit) verwendet werden, und die Glyphen dürfen das ›Spielfeld‹ nicht verlassen«, so Type Director Hendrik Weber.

Es dürfen nur 90°/45° Winkel verwendet werden, und die Glyphen dürfen das ›Spielfeld‹ nicht verlassen.

Hendrik Weber

An diese beiden Regeln müssen sich alle halten: Akzente heben die Grundlinie an oder senken die Höhe. Buchstaben, die nicht ins »Spielfeld« passen, werden abgeschnitten (z. B. der Buchstabe X). Die variablen Achsen sind die Breite (voll, halb und doppelt) und das Gewicht von fett bis dünn. Einige Buchstaben ändern sogar ihre Konstruktion, wenn sie interpoliert werden oder an einem Umbruch stehen.

ROOF

ROOF ist ein Zusammen­schluss der inter­national aufgestellten Beratungs­agenturen Arena11 und Spieler­rat. Der Slogan #bettertogether beschreibt Ansatz und Ziel­setzung von ROOF: eine führende Rolle im inter­nationalen Markt der Beratungs­agenturen. Sitz der neuen Agentur mit rund 40 Mitarbeiter:innen ist Grünwald (München). Dabei vereint die Agentur über 100 inter­nationale Athleten, die weltweit in diversen Ligen unter Vertrag stehen.

Meet the team
  • Kms team nadine nadler 01 4 3

    Nadine Nadler

    Strategy Director

  • Kms team alexander geh 03 4 3

    Alexander Geh

    Design Director

  • Kms team anthony underhill 02 4 3

    Anthony Underhill

    Copywriting Director

  • Kms team patrick maerki 01 4 3

    Patrick Märki

    Managing Partner

Unsere Leistungen
  • Corporate Design
  • Design-System
  • Motion Design
  • Logo Design
  • Typografie / Corporate Fonts
  • Naming / Claim
  • Brand Portale & Dokumentation