SchneiderSchreibgeräte

Since 2009, we have worked with the long-established German company Schneider, renowned manufacturer of writing tools, to develop strategic brand management processes that will continuously increase the value of the brand while tapping into new markets and customer groups.

  • Brand & marketing strategy
  • Positioning / identity
  • Corporate design
  • Touch point concepts
Market and opinion study

Schneider has always wanted to stay relevant. This is why we conducted an extensive market and public opinion study to identify the market potential for everyday writing tools and evaluated the results in line with Schneider’s strategic positioning. We used them as the basis for developing an inspiring, credible brand idea and mindset, which is now established as the driving force in management.

01b kms team schneider àxel sanjosé 6 5
People often use the word ›holistic‹ – it’s usually a vague, theore­tical word. But it’s different when we talk about Schneider: Strategy, design and language have become so logically and effectively inter­twined over the years that a strong brand has emerged with a tiny media budget. They even managed to double their sales in a decade.

Àxel Sanjosé

Product positioning
and communication

The product positioning and communication manifests itself in clearly defined profiles within the overall product range. The results are visible in the increased sales and more effective holistic brand management. The significance of handwriting is the core of the brand development, and its main principles are high product quality, sustainability and a close relationship with its customers. All of this forms the new brand identity and is reflected in the new corporate design.

Corporate design

All of the design elements were inspired by the world of writing. The logo consists of several different »S«-shaped lines, which refer to the individuality of writing. The spherical shape refers to the essential element of the ballpoint pen. The brand colour dark blue is derived from the classic pen colour and creates a distinctive, striking look when combined with the accent colour cyan.

Tagline development

Writing tools represent possibilities of recording and communicating ideas and messages. The catchy tagline »Schreib’s auf« (»Write it«) tells people to do just that, reflecting the simplicity of these products and their value in everyday life. It is integrated in the logo and wordmark, strengthening the reference to the guiding principle.

07 kms team schneider logo claim 16 9
Packaging and point of sale

The packaging was redesigned and adapted for the international market as part of the new brand identity. Schneider products stand out clearly from those of the competition, especially at the point of sale, with names such as »der Kugelsurfer« (»The page surfer«), »der Notizmeister« (»The note master«) and »der Wortbeschleuniger« (»The word accelerator«). The success of the Schneider brand world is shown in the fourfold increase in retail demand, as well as considerably higher brand awareness.

12 kms team schneider portrait knut maierhofer 4 3
We worked closely with Schneider over many years, actively supporting the brand as consultants and designers. We always take a holistic approach to our work to ensure that companies meet their goals.

Knut Maierhofer

Schneider Schreibgeräte

Founded in 1938 and based in Schramberg-Tennenbronn, the family-owned Schneider company originally manufactured screws and turned parts and started making ballpoint pen refills after the war. Since 1957, the company has also produced pens, fountain pens, ballpoint pens, all kinds of markers, leads and ink cartridges. Schneider manufactures its products at three sites (exclusively) in Germany and pays special attention to protecting the environment. According to their own data, Schneider is the only company in the industry to be certified in line with the Environmental Management System in accordance with the EC Ecological Audit Regulation EMAS, which was completed in 1998.

Services
  • Audit & research
  • Brand & marketing strategy
  • Positioning / identity
  • Purpose & corporate vision
  • Brand architecture
  • Corporate design
  • Logo design
  • Naming / tagline
  • Touch point concepts
  • Brand & corporate communication
  • Brand communication & campaign
  • Packaging design
  • Brand academy

SchneiderSchreibgeräte

Das deutsche Traditionsunternehmen Schneider, Hersteller von Schreibgeräten, arbeitet seit 2009 mit uns an der strategischen Markenführung, um den Markenwert kontinuierlich zu steigern und neue Märkte und Kundengruppen zu erschließen.

  • Marken- & Marketingstrategie
  • Positionierung / Identität
  • Corporate Design
  • Touchpoint-Konzepte
Markt- und Meinungsstudie

Schneider will relevant bleiben. Dazu identifizierten wir in einer umfangreichen Markt- und Meinungsstudie die Marktpotenziale für Alltagsschreibgeräte und für die strategische Positionierung des Unternehmens. Daraus leiteten wir eine inspirierende und glaubwürdige Markenidee und Haltung ab, die heute als Triebfeder in der Unternehmensführung verankert sind.

01b kms team schneider àxel sanjosé 6 5
Oft wird von ›Ganzheit­lichkeit‹ gesprochen – meist ein vager, sehr theo­retischer Begriff. Anders bei Schneider: Hier haben Strategie, Design und Sprache über Jahre derart logisch und wirkungs­voll ineinander­gegriffen, dass mit minimalem Medien­budget eine starke Marke entstanden ist. Auch in dem Sinne, dass sie ihren Umsatz in einem Jahrzehnt verdoppelt hat.

Àxel Sanjosé

Produktpositionierung
und -kommunikation

Die Produktpositionierung und -kommunikation manifestiert sich in klaren Profilen innerhalb des Gesamtsortiments. Das Ergebnis lässt sich anhand messbarer Erfolge im Vertrieb und der hohen Effizienz einer ganzheitlichen Markenführung ablesen. Die Bedeutung des handschriftlichen Schreibens ist der Kern der Markenentwicklung, seine zentralen Grundsätze sind hohe Produktqualität, Nachhaltigkeit und Nähe. All dies formt die neue Markenidentität und kommt im neuen Corporate Design der Marke zum Ausdruck.

Corporate Design

Sämtliche Designelemente wurden aus der Welt des handschriftlichen Schreibens abgeleitet. Das »S« des Signets bildet sich aus unterschiedlichen Schreib-Schwüngen, ein Verweis auf die Individualität des Schreibens. Die Form der Kugel zitiert das wesentliche Element des Kugelschreibers. Die Hausfarbe Dunkelblau leitet sich von der klassischen Farbe der Tinte ab, die Kombination mit der Akzentfarbe Cyan sorgt für Differenzierung.

Claim-Entwicklung

Mit Schreibgeräten können wir Ideen und Botschaften festhalten und übermitteln. Der neue Claim »Schreib’s auf«, fordert dazu auf und verweist gleichzeitig auf die Alltagstauglichkeit der Produkte. Er ist in das Bild- und Schriftzeichen integriert und verstärkt so den Bezug zur Leitidee.

07 kms team schneider logo claim 16 9
Packaging und Point of Sale

Im Rahmen des neuen Markenauftritts wurden auch Verpackungen neugestaltet und für den internationalen Markt adaptiert. Vor allem am Point of Sale heben sich die Produkte von Schneider durch markante Beinamen wie »der Kugelsurfer«, »der Notizmeister« oder »der Wortbeschleuniger« deutlich von denen der Konkurrenz ab. Der Erfolg der neuen Schneider Markenwelt zeigt sich in der Vervierfachung der Nachfrage im Einzelhandel – verbunden mit einer deutlich gestiegenen Markenbekanntheit.

12 kms team schneider portrait knut maierhofer 4 3
Die intensive Zusammen­arbeit mit Schneider erstreckte sich über viele Jahre, in denen wir die Marke als Berater und Gestalter aktiv begleiteten. Denn unser Anspruch ist es, Aufgaben ganz­heitlich zu lösen, damit Unternehmen ihre Ziele erreichen.

Knut Maierhofer

Schneider Schreibgeräte

Das 1938 gegründete Familienunternehmen Schneider mit Sitz in Schramberg-Tennenbronn stellte anfangs nur Schrauben und Drehteile her, nach dem Krieg dann Kugelschreiberminen. Seit dem Jahr 1957 laufen auch Kugelschreiber, Füllhalter, Textmarker, Tintenroller, sonstige Marker, Minen und Tintenpatronen vom Band. An drei Standorten produziert Schneider (ausschließlich) in Deutschland und legt besonderen Wert auf Umweltschutz. Nach eigenen Angaben ist Schneider das einzige Unternehmen der Branche, das seit 1998 nach dem Umwelt-Management-System gemäß EG-ÖKO-Audit-Verordnung EMAS-zertifiziert ist.

Unsere Leistungen
  • Audit & Research
  • Marken- & Marketingstrategie
  • Positionierung / Identität
  • Purpose & Corporate Vision
  • Markenarchitektur
  • Corporate Design
  • Logo Design
  • Naming / Claim
  • Touchpoint-Konzepte
  • Brand & Corporate Communication
  • Markenkommunikation & Kampagne
  • Packaging Design
  • Brand Academy