How do youfuture‑proofa bank?

Zürcher Kantonalbank Newer banks have an easier time in inspiring tech-savvy customers with innovations. But how do you bring Zürcher Kantonalbank, a venerable, 150-year-old bank – the fourth largest in Switzerland – into the digital age? How do you help an institution that plays such an important role in society (a full-service bank for all types of personal and business clients, from students to millionaires) transition effectively?

  • Brand & marketing strategy
  • Positioning / identity
  • Change management & culture
  • Corporate design
  • Digital / UX / UI design
  • Digital products / AR / VR
Understanding customers better

Together with Zürcher Kantonalbank, we conducted a survey on market and customer requirements to examine the bank’s potential future role. How relevant are digital tools to society? To what extent can the bank modernise and still remain a trusted financial partner to its clients?

Our approach, using the quantitative and qualitative RepGrid® opinion study, proved to be a valuable source of information. It provided valid insights on the brand and its competition, as well as sound findings on credible and differentiating brand content. The results of the research provided the basis for the development of the brand and strategic principles, the analysis, optimisation and support for the change process, as well as for brand and company images.

Banking is one of the most exciting fields at the moment.
Video Vera Schnitzlein, Head of Strategy KMS TEAM, on developing the strategy for Zürcher Kantonalbank
070 kms team zkb monica dreyer4 1 1

Monica Dreyer, Brand Management and Strategic Marketing Director at Zürcher Kantonalbank, describes the primary goals of the relaunch: »One major issue in the development process was to digitise our offers across all channels, and make them more flexible. Our brand is one of the keys to success here. With KMS TEAM, we found a partner who quickly got up to speed and worked as an integral part of our team.«

Leading the way among 437 competitors

Countless fintechs in Switzerland are bombarding banking customers with innovative offers – but technology is just one decisive factor in this intense competition. The other is trust. It was important to reimagine Zürcher Kantonalbank in the context of these two essential aspects. We worked closely with the Executive Team to reposition the brand in the highly competitive banking market and translated the vision and brand values into a forward-looking self-image. The brand concept also serves as a strategic management tool internally, helping employees to develop and integrate new products and services.

One major issue in the development process was to digitise our offers across all channels, and make them more flexible. Our brand is one of the keys to success here.

Monica Dreyer

Form follows touchpoint

You can’t manage more complexity with more rules. Instead, you need overarching design principles. This is the simplest way for us to create the most consistent identity for all of the bank’s touch points. The new visual identity of Zürcher Kantonalbank highlights the familiar blue brand color. At the same time, it identifies different moods and connects the trustworthiness of this traditional institution to the appeal of a dynamic banking innovator.

You can’t manage
more complexity
with more rules.

Robert Börsting

Strategy becomes a digital product

One of the main ambassadors of the brand transformation is »frankly«, the first direct offer from Zürcher Kantonalbank. Starting this mobile digital-only product for retirement savings is one way in which the bank fulfills its promise, »Die nahe Bank« (»The Close Bank«): You can’t get any closer than a smartphone in someone’s pocket. We developed the UX/UI for the new tool as well as the name. The public response to the modern, direct »frankly« experience has been very positive so far, serving as a catalyst for the implementation of the new brand identity.

We are breaking new ground in digital marketing with ›frankly‹.
Video Martin Scholl, CEO of Zürcher Kantonalbank, introduces »frankly«.
Banking is necessary,
banks are not.

Bill Gates

Simon Betsch, Managing Partner at KMS TEAM, knows how brands can use digital transformation to their advantage: »The digital transformation is changing society’s habits as well as the strategic factors for success for every company. The banks that see their customers as part of their ecosystem and offer substantial personalised products and services will be successful in the future. We establish brand management as a means of simplifying and facilitating these changes in companies.«

Zürcher Kantonalbank

Zürcher Kantonalbank is Switzerland’s largest cantonal bank and the fourth largest in the country. With balance sheet totals of 167,054 million CHF (2019), over 5,000 employees and 64 branch offices, this full-service bank has an extensive national and international presence. Its portfolio consists of products and services in all conventional business fields, from transactions and deposits, investments, pensions and financing to trade. Zürcher Kantonalbank customers include private individuals, micro-enterprises and start-ups, SMEs, large-scale businesses, public authorities, third-party banks and institutional investors.

Meet the team
  • Kms team vera schnitzlein 01 4 3

    Vera Schnitzlein

    Head of Strategy

  • Kms team robert boersting 01 4 3

    Robert Börsting

    Design Director

Services and results
  • Superior brand recognition and reputation compared to the competition (2019)
  • Consistently high employee motivation and satisfaction
  • Simplified brand management through a principle-based approach
  • Relaunch of over 40 touchpoints
  • Internal brand relaunch achieved in nine months
  • 15 months to the external brand relaunch

Wie eroberteine Bankdie Zukunft?

Zürcher Kantonalbank Junge Banken haben es leicht, technikaffine Kunden durch Innovation zu begeistern. Doch wie holt man eine 150 Jahre alte Traditionsbank, die viertgrößte der Schweiz, ins digitale Zeitalter – ein Institut, das obendrein einen wichtigen gesellschaftlichen Auftrag hat: Universalbank sein für alle Kundengruppen, Privat- und Geschäftskunden, vom Schüler bis zum Milliardär?

  • Marken- & Marketingstrategie
  • Positionierung / Identität
  • Change Management & Kultur
  • Corporate Design
  • Digital / UX-/UI-Design
  • Digitale Produkte / AR / VR
Kunden besser verstehen

Mit einer Meinungsstudie zur Untersuchung der zukünftigen Rolle der Bank analysierten wir mit der Zürcher Kantonalbank die Markt- und Kundenerwartungen. Wie relevant sind digitale Tools für die Gesellschaft, wie weit kann sich die Bank modernisieren und dabei der vertraute Finanzpartner bleiben?

Banking ist momentan eines der spannendsten Themen.
Video Vera Schnitzlein, Head of Strategy KMS TEAM, im Gespräch mit Monica Dreyer, Leiterin Markenführung & strategisches Marketing der Zürcher Kantonalbank
070 kms team zkb monica dreyer4 1 1

Monica Dreyer, Leiterin Markenführung und strategisches Marketing bei der Zürcher Kantonalbank, beschreibt, welche Ziele im Mittelpunkt des Relaunchs standen: »Die Flexibilisierung und Digitalisierung unserer Angebote über alle Kanäle hinweg war beim Entwicklungsprozess ein großes Thema. Unsere Marke ist dabei ein Schlüssel für den Erfolg. Wir haben mit KMS TEAM einen Partner gefunden, der sich sehr schnell auf Augenhöhe gebracht hat und als Teil unseres Teams mitarbeitet.«.

Vorn bleiben, trotz 437 Konkurrenten

Auch in der Schweiz umwerben zahlreiche FinTechs die Bankkunden mit innovativen Angeboten. Doch Technologie ist nur ein entscheidender Wettbewerbsfaktor. Der andere lautet: Vertrauen. Beides galt es, für die Zürcher Kantonalbank neu miteinander in Bezug zu setzen. Eng abgestimmt mit dem Führungskreis repositionierten wir die Marke im umkämpften Banking-Markt und überführten Vision sowie Markenwerte in ein zukunftsweisendes Selbstverständnis. Auch nach innen wirkt das Markenkonzept als strategisches Steuerungsinstrument. Unter anderem hilft es Mitarbeitern, neue Produkte und Services zu entwickeln und zu integrieren.

Die Flexibili­sierung und Digitali­sierung unserer Angebote über alle Kanäle hinweg war beim Ent­wick­lungs­prozess ein großes Thema. Unsere Marke ist dabei ein Schlüssel für den Erfolg.

Monica Dreyer

Form follows Touchpoint

Mehr Komplexität beherrscht man nicht durch noch mehr Regeln, sondern durch übergreifende Gestaltungsprinzipien. Damit gelingt uns auf einfache Weise der kohärente Auftritt über alleTouchpoints der Bank hinweg. Das neue Erscheinungsbild der Zürcher Kantonalbank stärkt die gelernte Markenfarbe Blau. Es gestattet gleichzeitig verschiedene Temperamente und verknüpft die Vertrautheit der traditionellen Institution mit der Attraktivität eines dynamischen Banking-Innovators.

Mehr Komplexität
beherrscht man nicht
durch mehr Regeln.

Robert Börsting

Strategie wird digitales Produkt

Als zentraler Markenbotschafter geht im Rahmen der Markentransformation »frankly« an den Start, das erste Direktangebot der Zürcher Kantonalbank. Mit dem mobilen Digital-Only-Produkt fürs Vorsorgesparen erfüllt die Bank ihr Versprechen, »Die nahe Bank«, ultimativ: Näher als auf dem Smartphone in der Hosentasche kann man Kunden nicht sein. Wir entwickelten für das neue Tool das UX/UI sowie den Namen. Das unmittelbare, zeitgemäße »frankly«-Erlebnis findet großen Anklang in der Bevölkerung und wirkt wie ein Katalysator für die Implementierung der neuen Markenidentität.

Mit ›frankly‹
gehen wir ganz
neue Wege im
digitalen
Marketing.
Video Martin Scholl, Vorsitzender der General­direktion der Zürcher Kantonalbank, stellt »frankly« vor.
Banking is necessary,
banks are not.

Bill Gates

Simon Betsch, Managing Partner von KMS TEAM, weiß, wie Banken den digitalen Wandel zu ihrem Vorteil nutzen können: »Die digitale Transformation verändert Gewohnheiten der Gesellschaft und damit auch die strategischen Erfolgsfaktoren für Unternehmen. In Zukunft werden die Banken erfolgreich sein, die ihre Kunden als Teil ihres Ökosystems verstehen und substanziell personalisierte Angebote machen. Wir etablieren Markenmanagement als Vereinfacher und Ermöglicher dieser Veränderungen im Unternehmen.«

Zürcher Kantonalbank

Die Zürcher Kantonalbank ist die größte Kantonalbank der Schweiz und die viertgrößte Bank des Landes. Mit einer Bilanzsumme von 167.054 Mio. CHF (2019), über 5.000 Mitarbeitenden sowie 64 Geschäftsstellen agiert sie national und international als Universalbank. Das Portfolio umfasst Produkte und Dienstleistungen in allen gängigen Geschäftsbereichen, von Geldverkehr und Passivgeschäft über Anlage und Vorsorge bis zu Finanzierung und Handel. Kunden der Zürcher Kantonalbank sind Privatpersonen, Kleinstunternehmen und Start-ups, KMUs, Großunternehmen, Behörden, Drittbanken und institutionelle Anleger.

Meet the team
  • Kms team vera schnitzlein 01 4 3

    Vera Schnitzlein

    Head of Strategy

  • Kms team robert boersting 01 4 3

    Robert Börsting

    Design Director

Leistungen und Ergebnisse
  • Überlegene Markenwahrnehmung und Reputation im Vergleich zum Wettbewerb (2019)
  • Konstant hohe Mitarbeitermotivation und -zufriedenheit
  • Vereinfachte Markenführung durch prinzipienbasierte Markensteuerung
  • Relaunch von über 40 Touchpoints
  • Neun Monate bis zum internen Marken-Relaunch
  • 15 Monate bis zum externen Marken-Relaunch